Design Assistance Committee & Historic Preservation Commission


  • The Design Assistance Committee meets on-call and acts as an advisory body to the Historic Preservation Commission.


  • The Design Assistance Committee (DAC) consists of five members appointed by the City Council to four-year terms who have the following qualifications:  
    • Two City Resident Members;
    • One Member from the Santa Paula Planning Commission;
    • One Member who shall have been a candidate nominated by the Santa Paula Historical Society; and
    • One Member who by reason of training and experience is knowledgeable in the field of construction and structural rehabilitation (such as a licensed architect, engineer, contractor, or urban planner).


  • Membership consists of 5 members, each serving a 4-year term.

Agendas & Minutes

  • Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
  • Access agendas and minutes for the Design Assistance Committee here: Agendas & Minutes (Link)


  • Karen Djernaes
  • Austin Auger
  • Marilyn Appleby
  • Jason Herber
  • Brittnay Botts-Volaski

Staff Representative

  • James Mason, Community & Economic Development Director

Federal Historic Preservation Laws, Regulations, and Standards