Government & Utilities


The City of Santa Paula was incorporated on April 22, 1902 as a general law city. The City Council is made up of five members, elected at-large, serving four year terms. The Mayor is selected for a one-year term from among the members of the City Council. The City operates under a council-manager form of government . The City Council appoints the City Manager and City Attorney. The City Clerk and City Treasurer are elected and serve four year terms.

City Departments & Services

The City of Santa Paula delivers municipal services through nine departments: 

  • Administration, which includes:
    • City Attorney
    • City Clerk
    • City Council
    • City Manager
    • Personnel
    • Risk Management
  • Building and Safety, which covers:
    • Building
    • Code Enforcement
  • Community Services, including:
    • Cable television
    • California Oil Museum
    • Filming
    • Senior services
    • Tourism
    • Recreation
  • Economic Development, which covers:
    • Housing
    • Redevelopment
  • Finance, including:
    • City Treasurer
    • Utility Billing and Payments
    • Accounting
    • Payroll
    • Purchasing
  • Fire
  • Police
  • Public Works, which includes:
    • Parks
    • Refuse
    • Streets
    • Wastewater
    • Water

Other Services